• Blog
  • City life

Here's the official Chinese public holiday calendar for 2022

Save the dates

Photograph: Hanson Lu on Unsplash

It’s a scary thought (fitting for Halloween) but there’s no denying that we’re quickly nearing the end of the year. 2021’s flown by, and, we hate to break it to you, now just might be the time to start planning your 2022. Next year’s Chinese public holiday calendar was released yesterday by the State Council of the People's Republic of China and yes, we’re sorry to say – there are still make-up days. It looks like this:


New Year's Day Holiday (three days)

Saturday 1 to Monday 3 January


January Spring Festival/Chinese New Year (seven days)

Monday 31 January to Sunday 6 February

Make-up working days: Saturday 29 January, Sunday 30


Qingming Festival (three days)

Sunday 3 to Tuesday 5 April

Make-up working days: Saturday April 2

Labour Day (five days)

Sunday 30 April to Wednesday 4 May

Make-up working days: Saturday 24 April, Saturday 7 May


Dragon Boat Festival (three days)

Friday 3 to Sunday 5 June


Mid-Autumn Festival (three days)

Saturday 10 to Monday 12


September National Day (seven days)

Saturday 1 to Friday 7 October

Make-up working days: Saturday 8 October, Sunday 9 October


Nothing too shocking really. If your first order of business was to work watching the Beijing Winter Olympics (kicks off from Friday 4 February) into your Chinese New Year break, you’ll probably have to use a bit of annual leave for that – only the first three days and the opening ceremony will be coinciding with the holiday.

Read more

Comments