• News
  • Music

Sum 41 and Travis among Summer Sonic's second wave announcement

Japanese music festival import unveils more names

© Laura Harvey Photography
More details have been released for Japanese import festival Summer Sonic Shanghai, with the festival's 'second wave' announcement confirming that Sum 41 and Travis will be performing. Whoo! Time to rock out like it's 2001!

Also confirmed are Japanese pop-rockers Luna Sea and Taiwanese RnB/hip pop acts Zhang Zhenyue and MC Hotdog, who have a habit of showing up on Shanghai festival bills.

They join The Kooks, The Fratellis and Dirty Loops on the line-up for the late August festival out by Disneyland. In case you missed it, Placebo won't be joining them - they've been banned thanks to an Instagram post that potentially hurt the feelings of the Chinese people. And Babymetal seem increasingly unlikely to get involved. Admittedly, there is a big TBA after The Fratellis' name on the poster but we're not holding our breath on that one.

Organisers are yet to release the full schedule, but so far it's looking like this as far as the main acts are concerned:

Saturday 26
Luna Sea, The Fratellis, Dirty Loops, Sum 41, Tez Cadey, 831, Lady Bee

Sunday 27
Travis, The Kooks, Hua Chenyu, Zhang Zhenyue, MC Hotdog, Nothing But Thieves, Marlo

So there you go. Want tickets? Have at them through the link below. Want a classic Sum 41 video to get you through the day? Go on then...

All the info you need on Shanghai's upcoming music festivals

You might also like